Food swap

November 6, 2008 at 5:26 pm 1 comment

So, I was thinking of trying to do a food swap, since clothing swaps and book swaps have been so great, and food is the main area I spend money besides rent these days.

pantryWe had discussed planning an event where people did some large batch cooking, had people sign up for what they would want, and everyone take home freezable food. In addition, everyone could bring any non-perishables they had around and weren’t going to eat and see if anyone else wanted them. This would have to be a NYC-based event. You’d be welcome to participate if you aren’t in NYC, but you’d have to come here. If you are interested, please comment. I was thinking maybe we could do sign-ups this month and then exchange food in the beginning of December if enough people are interested. And feel free to invite other people to join.

In the meantime, I’ve had a food swap idea I like better. Some friends of mine in college had a summer cooking collective that I got to take part in one summer. Everyone would put in a set amount of money, and then that money was used to buy groceries. People would cook in pairs four or five nights a week and everyone would get to eat the food. It was great. That would be hard to do now, since only a couple of my friends live close by and schedules are pretty variable. I was thinking it could be translated, though. Everyone would host a dinner once (or once per rotation) and we could have group dinners somewhere around once a week. Part of why I spend a lot on food is because I love eating out with friends. If I could do this instead, I think I’d save money, have fun, and maybe learn some new recipes. Does it sound good or workable to anyone else? We could keep the cooking in pairs thing-it made cooking a bit more fun and easy, and it meant you didn’t have to have experience cooking to participate.

So, please comment with answers to the following questions:
1. Would you be interested in a food swap as described above (large batch cooking & non perishables)?
If so:
1a. What days between now and Dec. 15th would be best for you?
1b. Do you have any food restrictions?

2. Would you be interested in taking part in a cooking rotation?
If so:
2a. What food restrictions do you have? I don’t eat meat, and since I am planning this, I call no meat.
2b. What days of the week and times work best for you? Once I get a decent number of responses I will work on setting dates that work for everyone, but for now let’s just look at days of the week.
2c. Would you want to cook with a partner?
2d. Would you prefer to cook at your own house, or someone else’s?
2d i. Would you prefer to always gather at the same house, maybe in a central location ro with a big table or something, or rotate?
2e. Does $5 a person per meal seem good to you? Can you afford that/do you think you could cook with that budget? This may depend in part on how many people are interested.

Entry filed under: food. Tags: .

October & November Goals A Glass Half-Full. Of beer.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Ali  |  November 7, 2008 at 2:23 am

    1. Would you be interested in a food swap as described above (large batch cooking & non perishables)?
    I went low carb and threw out a lot of stuff to help support Eric doing it. So I’m possibly down for batch cooking but I would want to make and receive things that are not carb heavy or there’s no point for me.

    If so:
    1a. What days between now and Dec. 15th would be best for you?
    Non-weekends are, unfortunately, best.

    1b. Do you have any food restrictions?
    The carb thing.

    2. Would you be interested in taking part in a cooking rotation?
    Totally, but it would be with the same restrictions and it might be difficult to work around both low carb and vegetarian for some people.

    If so:
    2a. What food restrictions do you have?

    2b. What days of the week and times work best for you? Once I get a decent number of responses I will work on setting dates that work for everyone, but for now let’s just look at days of the week.
    If this was ever happening at my own place, Thursday would be best so Eric could do it, too. Otherwise I could do Monday, Tuesday or Sunday nights here and there.

    2c. Would you want to cook with a partner?
    Sure.

    2d. Would you prefer to cook at your own house, or someone else’s?
    Cooking at my house is a nightmare.

    2d i. Would you prefer to always gather at the same house, maybe in a central location ro with a big table or something, or rotate?
    To me this depends. The person whose house it’s at is at an advantage unless they are also in charge of cleanup or something. But certain kitchens will obviously be more pleasant to cook in than, say, my own. But it’s also hard not to feel self-conscious about making a mess at someone else’s place.

    2e. Does $5 a person per meal seem good to you? Can you afford that/do you think you could cook with that budget? This may depend in part on how many people are interested.
    I think this is totally doable no matter how many people participate. If a lot of people participate and bring the cost down, there can just be nicer stuff at the meal.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


