October & November Goals

November 3, 2008 at 9:41 pm 3 comments

So October was slow month, blog-wise.  I only made 7 posts.  However, that’s because it was an awesome month, life-wise.  As I mentioned, two of my favorite people got married, I went to visit my boyfriend for his birthday, and I went to Hawaii.

All of this sounds like it should be really expensive, but it wasn’t.  Well, the wedding was really expensive by my standards but I think as far as weddings go, it was cheap.  For Hawaii the expensive part was the plane tickets, which  my mom paid for.  While we were there we kept it cheap by staying with family, buying groceries and eating at home & bringing snacks with us, and trying hard not to go crazy on souvenirs.

I also managed to spend $0 on my costume and still, I think, do a pretty good job, so that was a plus, and I did a freelance job and got paid which helped balance out all my crazy spending. I also set up my first C.D., at ING. I have a road trip fund that has been sitting around in cash. It is only $150, but it is better earning interest than not and I know the trip won’t happen in the next 12 months.

Here’s how I did on my goals:
1. Implement my new weekly budget system and stick to it. Poorly. To be honest, I entirely lost track of my budget. I started using mint.com, which I like, but I can’t keep track of my cash or weekly totals the way I am used to. I think I should stick with using my spreadsheet from now on. As I mentioned, I got kind of bored with entering things but if I do it every day it didn’t too bad, and I really do a better job when I write everything down. Because I was so lax, I am not even sure how I did. I just know I spent way too much money and didn’t allocate enough.

2. Use images in my blog. Of my 7 blog posts, 3 have images. However, it’s a better percentage than before. Should I keep working on this one? Do you guys like reading better when I use pretty pictures?

3. Make things new. I was very excited about this and started working on my dresser the first day. I got a bunch done, and then, well, that was it. This month should be a LOT calmer for me, so I am going to keep working on this.

I think, since October was so out of the ordinary, I am going to try again with the same goals for November. I hope that isn’t cheating 😉

How did you do?

Entry filed under: being unfrugal, budget, getting money, goals. Tags: , , .

50 Percent Food swap

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ali  |  November 4, 2008 at 4:04 am

    I already did my goals post, but, yes, even though I’m totally aware that my brain is doing this, it thinks your posts are better if you put a pretty picture, unless they’re short enough updates that lack of pictures doesn’t cause my eyes to glaze over.

    I hope Steph got better pictures of our costumes than the two pathetic pictures I have. Even though my hair is hanging down under the wig in hers.

  • 2. Adiel  |  November 6, 2008 at 3:15 am

    I’m afraid to do my post, I didn’t do so well. Ah well.

  • 3. debtfreesaver  |  November 6, 2008 at 5:30 pm

    Ali- thanks for feedback, I will keep working on it.

    Adiel-don’t worry about it, October seems to have been a crazy month for everyone. You can always try again, or maybe make a goal to set more attainable goals =)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


