Sick Of It

October 14, 2008 at 5:27 pm 4 comments

The wedding was fantastic. It was beautiful and fun, and the food was delicious. Most importantly, the couple was perfect.
*
I am sick of worrying about money. I am sicking of freaking out about whether people will pay me back for things I buy, or making a point of ten dollars between friends. I don’t like saying no and having my friends worry I can’t afford it and feel bad, or feeling awkward about that.

My budget is shot, there were a couple large expenses for the wedding that I did not take into account, and some for my cat. I am sick of entering numbers and have not been doing my old totaling up that I used to see how much I was spending on each category of thing.

I still love buying things discount, spending less, reusing things, and finding things for free. I am just burned out on keeping track, and still don’t know how to handle social expenses. I need some new motivation, or a better way to do this.

Entry filed under: being unfrugal. Tags: .

Five Days De-slumpifying

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Adiel  |  October 14, 2008 at 6:51 pm

    I wish I could be helpful in the motivation department. I feel you. I had and stuck to a budget for about 6 months and it helped me get most of my debt cleared up. Then I got discouraged and went on a shopping spree and haven’t really gotten back to the budget since. I think it’s time you plan a splurge for you so that you can reward yourself, then get back to a budget with maybe just a smidge more wiggle room so you don’t feel so restricted.

    I’m rooting for ya to keep up the good habits, you’re inspiring me to be better at saving, that’s for sure!

  • 2. Ali  |  October 14, 2008 at 6:53 pm

    At least I owe you lots of dollars!

  • 3. debtfreesaver  |  October 14, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    Adiel-Thanks. I feel like I just splurged, so I don’t really want to spend more right now. I think giving myself some more wiggle room is a good idea though. I wanted to be strict both because that’s about what my money works out to if I want to keep saving and because I thought if I budgeted less I’d spend less, but isn’t working.

    Ali-Yeah, but I’ve already taken those into account, because I am not doubting you’ll pay me back =p

  • 4. Cris  |  October 15, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    I’m not really sure what to suggest, except that if the book keeping is really wearing down on you, then you should find some other way of doing it. I don’t think a strict budget is really worth it when a person beats themself up for not following it :-/ It’s increases stress and self deprecation, and depletes your energy and happiness.

    I would suggest taking into account what $$ you really do need to spend each week/month, *including* going out with friends, b/c it is an important part of your life. Personally, I do my best to only eat out with friends and never by myself (tho I have failed at this resolution this month), and brown bag my “alone” meals, which saves monies.

    If you feel you spend too much $$ when you’re out with friends, then try to make cash-hacks from there. Go to less expensive restaurants (if everyone’s dietary requirements allow) or pick smaller things off the menu, take leftovers home with u, drink soda instead of alcohol (vastly overpriced in this city, ZOMG), tea instead of coffee, go home early enough that you don’t need to pay for a cab.

    There was another resolution I tried for a while that worked OK until I was too tired/depressed to bake for a few months- I didn’t let myself buy baked goods because I could make them @ home, especially when I was eating by myself. That was also a weight-loss related idea, because it meant I couldn’t eat a sugary cupcake unless I burnt calories to make it 😉

    I am also a supporter of once-a-month grocery shopping, because it means less impulse buys over the course of the month. I just had to learn how to freeze meats with more care.

    *huggles*

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


