Five Days

October 6, 2008 at 3:21 pm 4 comments

I am going to be in a wedding in five days, and I am making the cake. I think I will be a bit preoccupied with that.

This week is also Yom Kippur. Traditionally the days between the Rosh Hoshannah and Yom Kippur are a time of forgiveness, apologizing, and paying off debt. What a great idea. Once a year, you go thorough and you put things in order. Of course, a lot of us are trying to do this all the time, but it is good to have the extra impetus. For me, maybe strangely, this is best for forgiving other people. It’s a good reminder to let go of grudges. Even if I’m not happy with someone, I don’t have to remain angry. I can move on. It won’t mean all is forgotten, but it does mean I won’t be dwelling on that anymore.

This year is about forgiving myself, and a large part of that is forgiving my past money mistakes. I know I spent on things I didn’t need, ate out too much, failed to gain interest by putting my money in savings and other stupid actions. But that was the past. Even if it is that drink I shouldn’t have bought last weekend it was the past. Right now I am saving, I am planning for the future, and I am watching where my money goes.

***

On another note, the in-person clothing swap was great. Not only did I end up with awesome new clothing, I also got supplies for making my Halloween costume-a sweater I can turn into a bag and a sweater I can wear, as well as an offer of paints I can use. I think at this point my total cost for my costume should be between zero and five dollars, unless I go and spend money on a new pair of sneakers. The sneakers I own aren’t right, but new sneakers could be $30 or more, and I already own five pairs of Chuck Taylor’s. So I have to be strong.

The clothing swap also went well in terms of people taking stuff. People took a ton of clothing, and I think everyone was really happy with what they got. I also had some old key chains that I was getting rid of in an attempt to de-clutter, and a futon cover. Some key chains were taken and so was the futon cover. The most exciting part was the furniture. My mom has some furniture she’s been meaning to get rid of, and I have some in my room at her house. We worked out for people to come take it next weekend. We probably could have sold it on craigslist, but this way we know it will be out soon and the people who are taking it are going to help rearrange the other furniture into new rooms for free, so that’s really exciting. The place was looking way too busy with way too much in the living room, and now this old furniture we love but don’t need will be put to use, like a dresser I don’t need because I keep my clothing at my own place now. So that was awesome!

Next up, the food swap! That will probably happen in December. In the meantime, I am wearing a new to me shirt today and it is quite comfy!

Entry filed under: not spending. Tags: , .

Free to Be Sick Of It

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Christain Debt Reduction  |  October 6, 2008 at 4:48 pm

    Very interesting post. Thanks for bringing this to my attention.

  • 2. Adiel  |  October 6, 2008 at 6:01 pm

    Totally jealous that I couldn’t be at the in-person swap, but I’m glad that it went well!

  • 3. Ali  |  October 8, 2008 at 11:58 am

    I wore my new boots and, man, they were so comfy it’s not even funny and everyone commented on how cute they were. We are awesome.

  • 4. Michelle A  |  October 10, 2008 at 4:46 am

    I’m bummed I missed the in-person swap. Next time for sure.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


