New Year, New Goals

October 1, 2008 at 3:29 pm 4 comments

Well, it’s a new month, and for some of us, a new year. As of yesterday I am feeling pretty happy with what I achieved in September.

I’ve got some big things coming up in October, but most of them are pretty unrelated to this blog. I’m going to tie them in, however. Some people have an “other half” in a best friend. I have other thirds, because I am twice as lucky. One of my other thirds is getting married this month, and that’s going to be most of my goals and energy for the next two weeks. It relates in terms of balancing the budget for the month, but also because she’s going to be doing a series of guest posts on doing a frugal wedding. I think a lot of her tips are great not just for wedding planning, but for any big event you might have.

Meanwhile, I have some goals related to the blog and saving money.

1. Implement my new weekly budget system and stick to it. Since having the same budget every week didn’t work because my life varies from week to week, I’m going to implement a new system starting Friday. My budge last month was $50 a week, not including rent/utilities, cable/internet, or the cost of food and such I already owned. This month my budget will be $54/$76/$77/$38. Which means I am going to need my Halloween costume for very cheap. I can do it-two years ago I was Beaker for Halloween. I spent about $5, mostly on orange hair spray, and did so well that I won a prize for my costume. Wish me luck! Also, these numbers don’t include my boyfriend’s birthday present. I’m not putting the budget for that up, in case he reads this.

2. Use images in my blog. I always like it better when blogs have pictures, so I want more in mine. Pictures add to a point, and if I am explaining how to do a project or recipe pictures will be key. I can finally get pictures off my digital camera again, so that should help.

3. Make things new. I was inspired in part bythis post. I have a dresser that I’ve been meaning to collage. I’ve got a couch I’m not that excited about. And I’ve got some clothing that is functional but not fun. I am going to go through and see what I can do to make old things feel new to stave off the desire to buy more. That will be especially important since this a tight month between the wedding and my boyfriend’s birthday and Halloween.

I do think it is going to be hard to stick to a budget this month. I have a bit of leeway, since I am still erring on the side of smaller numbers because I would rather go over than spend up through what I have allocated. I need a better method than that, but I don’t have one yet. As I get more data on how much various things cost it should be easier to build more realistic budgets. I also have to allow for buying things this month on sale if they will be good Christmas presents.

So, what are your goals? And how are you feeling about September?

Entry filed under: budget, goals, not spending. Tags: .

September Goals Redux Free to Be

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ali  |  October 1, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    I did my goals post! Also, holy cow, I am getting married. Also, most of my Christmas shopping is finished and I win at life. Also, frugal Halloween party.

  • 2. Scott @ The Passive Dad  |  October 2, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    Thanks for the link and for the kind words. Glad to hear you’re excited to make some items “like new”. It can be fun to be creative. And it can be done cheap for a fun new look 🙂

  • 3. Eric  |  October 6, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    I am trying to figure out what to do about my drums this month. On the one hand, I dont think i will be able to play them any time in the next two years, and the are valuable and I can get good money for them. On the other hand, I can get not get what they are worth to me, and If i were to sell them, I wouldnt have any drums, and what good is being a drummer if you have no drums. So therefore, what is more important, getting $1,000, which could help get me the last little bit out of debt, aside from student loans, or keeping the drums, mostly for nostaglia, but also because when i can play again, i would have to invest way more then $1,000 to get a comparable set back

  • 4. October & November Goals « Debt Free Saver  |  November 3, 2008 at 11:06 pm

    […] how I did on my goals: 1. Implement my new weekly budget system and stick to it. Poorly. To be honest, I entirely lost […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


