September Goals Redux

September 29, 2008 at 3:03 pm 5 comments

So, updates.

I finally turned in  the cable box.  My monthly bill will now go from about $110 to $45.  Still higher than I’d like, but at this point it is a necessary expense.  If I stay in Astoria after Dec I will definitely shop around for a lower price.  In the meeantime, I can certainly use that extra $55 a month.

As for my goals:

1. Stick to a weekly budget. The weekly budge thing did not go so well.  I am trying to compensate this week because I don’t have a lot of expenses, but I am almost an entire week’s budget over budget for the month.  Well, I tried.  Next month, I am trying a variable week system as suggested by Ali.  If that doesn’t work, I will try something else.

To be fair, when I say it didn’t work I mean I couldn’t stick to it.  I still think it was pretty effective in helping keep my costs down overall.  It just made me feel too down on myself, and that’s not fun or healthy, so I won’t budget that way in the future.  Also, I know I’m not going to stick to something long-term that makes me unhappy.

2. Update on a regular schedule. I feel pretty content with this. I wrote here a lot more, even if I didn’t do it on a strict schedule. I also feel like I only wrote where I actually had something to say.

3. Find some extra income. I did some freelance work, although it went less well than I could have hoped at least I worked on that. So that was some. And while reducing a bill is not exactly income, it helps, and I am going to count that. Still, I think this a goal I could definitely continue to work on harder.

4. Use what I have. This went great! Through swapping things I already had for new things, reading books I’d been meaning to read, watching movies I’d been meaning to watch, and using my computer for tv I got tons of use out of things I had and did not feel sad in not having new things. I also saved a lot of money on food by being much better than I’ve been in the past about using up both leftover meals in news and using ingredients I already have.

So that was September. Next up, October, and a new year for us Jews. New goals should go up Wed. I think you guys should also post goals! Consider yourself tagged, Adiel, Ali, Cris, and Bluemilker

Entry filed under: budget, food, goals. Tags: .

Our Swap Items New Year, New Goals

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cris  |  September 29, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    Oh noes! I’ve been tagged!

    *hides from goal making*

  • 2. Ali  |  September 29, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    I will do a post about goals! I can’t wait to see how the variable week budget thing turns out.

  • 3. SSC  |  October 1, 2008 at 4:30 am

    Using what we have is a priceless idea. I also had an idea the other night to play a board game with our kids. Made me think back to before video games and high definition tv. Plus, board games create conversation and can even make us laugh and think. Great post!

  • 4. Scott @ The Passive Dad  |  October 1, 2008 at 4:38 am

    Do you miss having cable tv or do you read more and have more time for other activities? I would imagine that you could catch-up on many tasks without the distraction or temptation to watch tv. I sure would benefit from canceling cable in many ways.

  • 5. debtfreesaver  |  October 1, 2008 at 2:29 pm

    Cris & Ali- Great posts!

    SSC – I used to play board games frequently and I haven’t played them much in about a year. I think I will schedule a board game night soon. Thanks for the reminder!

    Scott- I still watch tv. I just watch online at hulu.com and abc.com. I do spend less time watching tv though, and it has helped with my productivity at night. I also get to bed on time more.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


