I Knead More Dough

September 24, 2008 at 5:37 pm 5 comments

Getting ready for the clothing swap (expect a post tomorrow about that) catching up on work at the day job, and starting to feel like one day soon I might actually not be behind on everything. It’s a good feeling.

I made this

I made this

Still behind on budget, though, and still looking for new ways to save. Could I eat on $10 a week? Maybe. I learned to make bread this week, thanks to a friend. I had an irrational fear of baking with yeast, and now I’ve done it and it worked and at the end there was tasty bread. Even though I’ve complained recently that some of my scratch-cooking efforts have ended up costing more than buying pre-made things, as far as I can tell scratch bread is still much cheaper. Especially if I do it on a regular basis. And since I eat sandwiches just about every weekday for lunch, cheaper bread should help.

I’ve also been good about using up ingredients for dinner. I had some eggs and milk that were past due but not gross, so I made quiche. I had leftover cheese from making casserole so all I had to get was spinach. I’ve also been good about using up leftovers instead of getting something new for dinner. I try to be good and mix it up with different side dishes so I’m not just eating the exact same thing every night, but I am about out. I think I’m going to see what fresh and frozen veggies are cheap or on sale.

The real problem is eating out. I need to work on doing it cheaper. I don’t want to never go out with friends, but I need to be better about plannign when I am going to do it and spend less when I do. I know all the tricks. I almost never order drinks or dessert. If I get an appetizer it is usually because it is my main dish-sometimes it’s because I am sharing one with people. That’s fine, when I do that I eat less of my main dish and have leftovers, and then I’ve gotten two meals for the price. Sometimes I snack before going out. But still, I find myself spending way more than I want to, and a couple times recently have felt like I spent too much for what I got. And even knowing all the rules, I mess up.

I just need to think about my goals when I look at a menu or make a plan, and remind myself what matters more in the long run. And when I do go out, it should be a budgeted for decision so I can just enjoy it-because when I have budgeted for it, I am happier. It’s so crazy to think how often I used to eat out or order in as a matter of course and not appreciate it.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Not that kind of money blog Our Swap Items

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ali  |  September 24, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    Puns!

    The real question is could you eat on $10 a week for a prolonged amount of time without getting bored or malnourished. Because, yes, you can figure out X number of healthy ways to eat for $10 a week, but X probably wouldn’t be a very large number. And what then? Or (like me), you could kinda suck at eating inexpensive healthy things and die of malnutrition with the $10 plan.

  • 2. debtfreesaver  |  September 24, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    Ali- Yeah, I more meant can I eat on $10 most weeks. Part of how it works is occasionally buying things that cost more, and then having leftover stuff to use. Maybe $10 every other week, not counting eating out, would be do-able. This month I spent about $60 on groceries at the beginning of the month and less than $10 a week since that.

  • 3. Adiel  |  September 24, 2008 at 10:34 pm

    That is my biggest fear about a budget: boredom. I’d love to see what you come up with in the future to stop yourself from getting bored.

    I’m craving quiche now though. 😉
    I’m doing the swap too!

  • 4. Ali  |  September 25, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    Sasha’s quiche is delicious. Maybe if I made delicious quiche I could eat it every week.

  • 5. debtfreesaver  |  September 25, 2008 at 3:58 pm

    Adiel- me too! 🙂

    Ali-Thank you

    Both-I think I will do a post with some good frugal recipes, and include my super easy to do quiche recipe.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


