Goal#1 Update

September 4, 2008 at 3:39 pm 1 comment

So I am getting to the end of the first week with a weekly budget. How did I do? Poorly.

Counting Friday, when I did not yet know what my budget was going to be, I am $11 over. I’m supposed to go out for drinks with people from work today and I am debating the merits of just drinking water (keeping myself down to $1) or not. I think I will end up with not. I’d skip it, but it’s my friend’s last week here. If I had planned better it would be okay.

For anyone curious, I am not counting monthly bills or transportation or savings deposits or anythign in this budget.

Now I need to figure out if I should subtract whatever I am over from next week’s budget or start with a clean slate and see how it works out at the end of the month. I think I should be able to subtract some from my budget for next week, because the biggest thing that put me over was buying food (and ingredients for ice cream), and I now have enough food for most or all of next week. On the other hand, I am going away this weekend.

Maybe I should average the extra over the remaining weeks of the month.

I hate messing up the first week! Hopefully this will just motivate me for next week.

Entry filed under: goals. Tags: .

September Goals Where Does It Go?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Ali  |  September 4, 2008 at 5:41 pm

    It does suck messing up the first week, but I think it’s pretty awesome that you aren’t immediately discouraged by the mess-up and falling back on old habits.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


