I want to be groovy

August 29, 2008 at 2:05 pm 1 comment

Last Night I spent $30 on a show and $12 on a shirt.

It was 99% worth it, for the experience of the show and to have a shirt that I like, looks nice on me, is comfy, supports a band I like a lot, and can be worn to work as an undershirt.

But, ouch.

This morning I got an email that Threadles is having its fall sale. For those of you who don’t know, Threadless is really awesome really comfy t-shirts with user submitted and approved designs. One of my favorite shirts is on sale, and so are a few I’ve been wanting, includingthis one which reminds me of my kitten, both for the orange coloring and for the adorable disaster aspect.

I can’t get any of them.

Well, I could. But I need to consider if owning more t-shirts is really more important than having, for example, rent money. What good will it do me if I lose my home but I can say, “oh, I have awesome t-shirts!” Well, some. But I already have awesome t-shirts. And I just spent $42, so this time I’ll have to pass. Here’s where having the blog comes in handy-It helps motivate me and keep me on track. I can also complain about these things without having to go around bitching about money all the time, which I hate, or making people think I don’t have enough money for rent. Really I do. I’m just trying to have enough for rent and to keep savign a little.

(Full disclosure-the first link to Threadless is my street team link. If you use it and go buy shirts, I get points.)

Entry filed under: being unfrugal. Tags: .

The Other Side of Free September Goals

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Ali  |  September 4, 2008 at 2:33 am

    I want to bring joy.

    With our plan to buy scooters for our main transport after our lease is up, I sometimes get terrified that I’ll spend all my rent money on clothes and have NOWHERE to put them. Have you seen the trunk size of a scooter?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


