Starting to Care About Money

August 4, 2008 at 1:34 pm 1 comment

In college, I really never really thought about money. I only worried about having enough money to buy the things I wanted, and never thought beyond that. I spent years working without tracking my expenses, saving, or even making sure I had any money left at the end of the month. I remember when I was at one job I looked at the amount I had made that year to date on my pay stub.

“Wow,” I said, “I made that much?? Where did it all go?” I had no idea. I could kick myself for having been irresponsible about money all that time, but instead I will be glad that I avoided any serious debt and eventually started paying attention.

When I graduated I started worrying about money. I knew I wanted to move back to the city, but I didn’t know what my rent would be or if I would have a job when I got here. I started working every shift I could at my part-time job, especially the shifts that paid more – Friday and Saturday nights. My rent was very low over the summer, and I saved every penny I could.

I ended up not finding a job for about three-and-a-half months. I know now things I should have done, like asked for a raise, started a savings account, etc, but at least I was able to get by until I had a real job-almost. I worked some odd jobs here and there and had to borrow about $500.

Eventually I found a job. About four months after I started, I found out that I was going to be laid off. For the next month I worked and saved every penny in case I couldn’t find another job. Then I worked a temporary job and tried to save because I knew it was temporary. Finally I got a real job again. By then I had made a decision.

I had known vaguely for a while that I wanted to someday own my own home, which is very hard in a major city. I realized if I wanted to do that, I’d have to start really thinking about money. I started reading blogs and discussion boards. I saved where I could and learned new ways to save. Eventually I started a savings account, got my first real credit card, and started tracking expenses. Eventually, I started my own money blog.

Next: What happened and what I learned once I started paying attention and had a goal.

Entry filed under: being unfrugal. Tags: .

Putting my money where my mouth is, unfortunately $50000 (Haven’t You Always Wanted a Monkey)

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Ali  |  August 4, 2008 at 1:55 pm

    I would love to see a post with more information about how to ease into tracking money and learning to save. Like, with steps. Or advice about, say, three things to do if you do NOTHING else. Something like that.

    Heart you.

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed