New Clothes!

July 28, 2008 at 7:11 pm 4 comments

I love new clothing. I love old clothing, too, and sometimes have trouble getting rid of things. However, in my quest to save money every month, new clothing was the real issue. I used to shop a lot when I first got a job, using the excuse that I needed to build a work wardrobe. I got just about everything on sale and I’m happy with the prices I paid, but now I am at a point where I need to just not be spending that money. Clothing and food were probably the two areas of my life where I spent the most. Food I am still pretty bad about, but my food budget is really a topic for a different post.

In terms of clothing, I started by going cold turkey. Nothing new, at all, not even checking to see if there was a sale or what was available. After about two months of this, I was able to check out sales at my favorite places and decide there was nothing I needed for those prices. I even got an email from one online place saying they missed me and offering 15% off. While it is always nice to be missed that emphasized for me how much I really had been spending.

Getting no new clothing at all was not that fun. I love new clothes! Fortunately, my closest friend has come to the rescue. First, she gave a way a bunch of clothing and I was able to claim some for free. The only thing better than new clothing is free new clothing! I understand that not everyone can count on having an awesome friend just giving away clothing. The next two things are things that could work for anyone at any time.

Second, we organized a clothing swap. Four of us got together at one girl’s house and brought bags and bags of clothing we didn’t want. Then everyone held up items, tried things on, claimed things and went home happy. The girl who hosted donated what was left unclaimed at the end to goodwill, and gets the tax write-off as a reward. We will definitely be doing this again, and I highly recommend it. Even if you think your friends are not going to be your size I’d say it’s worth a shot. You have nothing to lose, and cleaning out your closet is just as helpful to saving money as getting new clothing for free, even if it isn’t as much fun.

Front of shirtThird, our next project is t-shirt surgery. When we were getting ready for the clothing swap I set aside a bunch of t-shirts. Most of them are too big, one is too small, and almost all of them have two things in common: they hold sentimental value and I never ever wear them. The plan is to cut, sew, paint, etc until these old shirts I don’t wear become new shirts I’m excited about. More new clothing, free. Friday, I made my first shirt.

Back of shirt
I love new clothes, but I am also learning to love not spending money. Fortunately, it turns out I don’t have to choose.

Entry filed under: not spending. Tags: .

Spotting Friends Putting my money where my mouth is, unfortunately

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ali  |  July 28, 2008 at 7:39 pm

    It is also worthy of note that, all of a sudden, when you start giving away your own clothing, people come out of the woodwork thinking it’s a great idea and start doing it themselves. By getting rid of clothing you never wear or don’t want to dry clean, you can start a giveaway trend that you can benefit from!

  • 2. Adiel  |  July 30, 2008 at 3:49 pm

    I so badly want to do a clothing swap, but I don’t think that I’d be able to find any one that would attend. I love the T-shirt surgery idea. I’ve got a pile of t-shirts that I’ve been meaning to alter to a style that I’d be excited to wear.

  • 3. debtfreesaver  |  July 30, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    Adiel-
    You should totally try to plan a clothing swap anyway, because you don’t know until you try.

    The t-shirt surgery is definitely easier in terms of not needing other people to go along, and it was really fun.

    Or you could try Ali’s method where you post a list of what you are getting rid of & photos and then hope other people do the same later 😉

  • 4. Ali  |  July 30, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    Adiel, if you’re willing to visit the post office, you could do a swap right on your blog! I’d participate! And I already have more than enough in my giveaway pile again, ha. It’s not *quite* the same, but I think we could make it a success.

    The nice thing about the t-shirt surgery was the immediate gratification. (Not on my surgery, though. It’s still not done.) We had things we didn’t want and then, poof, things we liked!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


