Food, my only weakness! How did you know?

December 18, 2008 at 3:31 pm 1 comment

So I am kind of sticking to weekly updates. Kind of.

As for my budgeting goal of $300, still looking good-I think. It is after the 15th, and I’ve only spent $280 on food, moving, gifts, travel, everything but rent. So in that way, I succeeded. On the other hand, I still have one and a half gifts to get and those will probably come to more than $20.

On the bright side, I made $110 selling stuff I didn’t need on craigslist, and tricked people into taking some of the rest of the stuff I won’t need any more. One of the best ways I can save right now is by having less stuff. Plus, free money!

On another down side, I still keep spending way more on food than I intend to. I am trying to come up with a reasonable food budget for the next four weeks and it’s really hard. I know I spend too much, but what’s a limit I can set that I won’t break? Is it better to set an overall budget, a budget for eating out and eating in, or a budget and a set number of times I can eat out? I think an overall budget makes the most sense, but I also think it might be harder to stick to based on past experience. Advice totally welcome!

Entry filed under: budget, food, getting money, goals, not spending. Tags: , , .

Restaurant.com Moving Matters

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Chrysilla  |  December 22, 2008 at 11:46 pm

    Why not take account of what you usually spend on eating out during a week, and put that into your budget as a set amount? So you’re not punishing yourself for going out and having fun, you are planning to have your usual amount of fun each week :-)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

